First trip away with my new camera – Blue Mtns

8 05 2007

Well I just got back from my first trip away with my new Nikon D200. What a lovely camera! I went up to the Blue Mountains for a trip with Ben & Tim’s school and ended up camping out each night and getting up early for some sunrise photography.

I went out on Saturday morning to Wentworth Falls lake for some sunrise shots. However conditions weren’t the best… there was a reasonable wind blowing which created a lot of wind on the lake, and the sunrise was a bit dissapointing.

That evening however I went to shoot a sunset shot of the Old Blast Furnace in Lithgow. Unfortunately I got there a bit late and just missed the golden sunlight (there was a big hill to my West which meant the sun disssapeared 15 min early!) However I scouted the location and decided to drive back in the morning. Boy am I ever glad that I did. I probably had the best morning’s photography I have ever had…. It started out with the pre-dawn shots… the sunrise was glorious. I shot the follwing two shots before the sun peeked over the horizon.

Old Blast Furnace 3

Old Blast Furnace 2

Then once the sun came up it cast a lovely difuse yellow light on the ruins and the sky was absolutely perfect (beautiful clouds that didn’t dominate the scene). I shot the following two shots just after sunrise.

Old Blast Furnace 1

Old Blast Furnace 4

I finished up my weekend going to Leura Cascades and enjoyed a lovely hike in the mountains. When I arrived at the lake the light wasn’t right, however with no kids tailing me, I sat down, had a picnic and waited for the sun to get higher in the sky. I recorded this image.

leura cascades

All in all, it was an absolutely beautiful weekend away with my new camera.


Actions

Information

One response

11 11 2008
September

You write very well.

Leave a Reply

