Night Shoot Number 3 – The Old Blast Furnace

24 02 2008

Last Saturday my Old Man and I threw our swags into the 4WD and headed up to the mountains for a planned evening of night photography. It was a full moon so we figured the old Blast Furnace at Lithgow would be a great location for some long exposure work.

Got some interesting images.

Architecture Under The Stars

This first one was a 12 minute exposure… my longest yet. I jumped down into the basement of the old gas works and camped out there in the dark to get this image.

We were lucky in the fact that a bunch of clouds finally came overhead to create some drama to this image of the ruins.

The clouds Did Come After All

Starting to feel like I am getting the night photography sussed out… I’ve got a routine going to calculate exposures and to compose my shots and I seem to be making the captures correctly (hardly any noise and the amp glow hasn’t posed a major problem).

I love the pace of night photography… lots of time to think and plan while the shutter is open. My new torch seems to work well, so I’ll have to start doing more painting with light.

Brent


Actions

Information

4 responses

8 03 2008
Anonymous

Great shots Brent!!

If you dont mind me asking, what process/settings do you use to sharpen your images?

Thanks very much and keep up the great work🙂

9 03 2008
Brent Pearson

Hey Anonymous (not sure why you are anonymous when you are asking a question… better chance of receiving an answer if you give me your email address).

None-the-less let me give you my philosophy on sharpening.

I love Photoshop and enjoy spending time creatively on my images. However… when it comes to tasks like sharpening, I don’t like mucking about with unsharp mask or smart sharpen… I just want my images looking the best they can.

So….

I have purchased Nik Sharpener and I absolutely love it.

I apply 50% Raw pre-sharpening when I open an image (no sharpening in Adobe Camera RAW or Lightroom).

Then I work on the image and when I get to output sharpening I usually either use Nik Display at 24% – 30% for Flickr or if I am printing I just select my paper type and choose Nik Epson Printer and let it optimally sharpen for my print settings.

This takes all the magic and guesswork out of sharpening and allows me to spend more time on the real creative process.

I can’t speak highly enough about the Nik Sharpening plug-in.

Brent

10 03 2008
Lindsey

I love the shot in color it’s amazing! Nice job. lLooks like fun I might need to try that as some point.

2 04 2008
Spool

Hi Brent,

Just found your blog and thanks for giving us that info about the sharpening tool plug in, since I have ben doing most of mine in smart sharpen in CS3 I will look for this plug in and give it a try. Thanks agai, like the blog look forward to visiting back often.

Leave a Reply

