Night Photography & Light Painting Presentation

6 02 2009


Last night I gave a presentation on night photography and light painting to a bunch of folk from some of the North Shore camera clubs. I certainly enjoyed the evening and there seemed to be a lot of photographers very interested to learn more about nocturnal photography.

For those that attended last night, thanks for giving up your Friday night, I hope you found it of value. Here’s some links to some of the resources I mentioned in my talk last night.

My primer on night photography

My primer on Light Painting

Light Painting Forresters Rocks

Calculating night exposures

In fact I suggest you read all of the posts that I did in Feb 08, they document my experiments, journey and research into night photography… there are some useful tidbits there (like how to identify the South Celestial pole if you are doing startrails etc.)

Other resources I referred to;

Toby Kellers Burnblue site (fantastic light painting where you see the light source)

Tim Simmons site (Tim inspired me to develop the light tools that I now use)

Anyway, I hope you all enjoyed the evening, I look forward to seeing you out on a rocky outcrop one night😉

Good luck, have fun… and don’t forget the wine and cheese!

Brent


Actions

Information

2 responses

12 02 2009
Raghu

Hi Brent,

This post comes after a really long hiatus. Do keep writing in. The techniques you describe are novel.

Raghuram
India

10 04 2010
Foto Notturna & Light Painting – Marina di Gairo (OG) « MixYourShot

[…] per vedere in dettaglio come utilizzare questa tecnica date un’occhiata a questa guida al light painting e per vedere dove ho scattato la foto data un’occhiata alla mappa qui […]

Leave a Reply

