Devil’s Garden

7 07 2009

Metate Arch Web

Another light painted image.  This was taken about 10:30pm under a full moon.  The moon was actually fairly low in the sky and to the right of camera.  If you look at the rocks that are in the background you can see the light and shadows from the full moon.  However the problem is  the entire arch (and everything under it was in total blackness).  This is where light painting really comes into it’s own.  When nature won’t play ball, then pump a bit of foreground light in from camera left and you get some nice foreground dramatic lighting and detail under the arch.

This place was actually a bit spooky to shoot.  It is a very long way from anywhere (12 miles down a dirt track from the closest small town).  Obviously not a soul about.  While I was shooting I was surrounded by these huge 10m+ bizarre statues of stone that look like faces.  Desert animals were roaming around which broke the absolute silence…. a few times I’d hear a bush rustle and spin around my light to see a reflecting set of eyes (coyotes?)  then they’d disappear.  I normally don’t get spooked when doing night shooting alone, but this place was spooky.  The only other place that I found spooky to shoot in was Port Arthur in Tassie.   I got a permit to shoot there at 3AM and found that very very eerie…. probably didn’t help that I did the ghost tour the night before 🙂

Today I have driven back to Moab and am going to shoot some wider vistas in Canyonlands – Island in the sky.

(excuse the rough processing… running low on battery)

BP


Actions

Information

21 responses

7 07 2009
Graham Leggate

Awesome! What a great shot… I know you are aiming to do lot’s of B&W, but it would be nice to see the colour version of this as well… if you get a chance. Hmmm, shooting alone in the desert in the middle of the night… yep, a bit on the spooky side.

7 07 2009
Jamie Paterson

Hi Brent,

This is hands down one of the most striking shots I’ve seen in ages. Well Done.

Jamie Paterson

7 07 2009
GK

Great image! It is amazing to see what a little creative light painting can bring to an image. I’m going to have to save your locations so I can visit them when over there. GK

7 07 2009
Christian

you are one gutsy hombre my friend! and that is one spectacular shot. There is no way in hell you would catch me out there alone at night!. I get scared just walking to my bedroom in the dark. You take it to another level, and Port Arthur at 3am, WTF. That has to be undie staining stuff mate. I remember being stalked by a coyote at Olympic NP and I had bear spray out pointed at this guy ready to shoot him with it if he had a go. That was in plain daylight. As it turned out I fired off the spray to see what happens, not at the coyote. This yellow mist came out and wafted around us and we ended up coping some in the face that made us choke and cough. Funny stuff.

8 07 2009
brentbat

Thanks for your kind words Jamie… yeah I liked the way this turned out.

BP

8 07 2009
brentbat

Hey Graham
Once I process all my shots, I’ll take a look at the originals to see whether they would work in colour.

BP

8 07 2009
brentbat

Hey Christian

Very funny… I can imagine you trying to fend of poor little coyote and blasting yourself with the bear spray.

98% of the time I shoot at night I am very relaxed and enjoying the solitute and beauty of the location I am shooting… but Devils Garden…. spooookkkkyyyy.

Thanks for the compliments on the shot. I was happy with how it turned out.

BP

8 07 2009
brentbat

Hey GK
Wait for about a week and then you’ll be able to really get a feel for the locations when I edit and post the videos that I shot of the locations… you’ll get to see a lot more “behind the scenes” of the photos.

BP

8 07 2009
Kajo

Def. A for courage, Brent. You really don’t get spooked much. I think I would not be able to do it. Too many movies a la Pulp Fiction etc.
I would be scared to get buried right under this arch🙂

Really amazing shot though, you have chosen your comp wisely – centering the b/g rocks almost perfectly in the arch, tough job at night. This one really works for me, outstanding. Greez from Amalfi coast (internet is slow as f**** here ;))

8 07 2009
The Old Man

Hi Mates,

This looks familiar. Is this the spot with the hodoos that we shot on our last trip together. Your BW images are great. I look forward to seeing the lot upon your return.

Old Man

8 07 2009
kirkhille

Nice shot Brent
Looks like your deffinatly getting a lot of shots out there

9 07 2009
brentbat

Hey Kajo
Thanks for the comments… don’t know if it is courage or stupidity😉

Hows the Amalfi Coast going? Are you getting some good shots? I’ll have to mosey on over to your blog and see whats going on.

Take care
Brent
PS. Internet is blisteringly fast here and wifi is everywhere!!!

9 07 2009
brentbat

Hey Dad

Yes, this was the place we shot before (with the stone statues that look like Easter Island heads).

See you in a few days
BP

9 07 2009
brentbat

Thanks Kirk
I’m very happy with the shots that I am getting, although this trip I’m shooting more like a large-format photographer. I’m scouting my locations really well and visualising 2 or 3 shots that I want to grab and making sure I absolutely nail those. I’m not running around shooting all different angles and compositions… I am trying to put more thought up front so that I have less sorting and processing to do later on (quality over quantity).

BP

9 07 2009
Kajo

Got a few soso shots, not really happy with it, but then I only have a 2.5x zoom and I find it hard to separate a subject here in this maze of streets, power cables and tourist heads.
Will get better stuff done in Paris I am sure.
Enjoy the rest of your trip!
K

9 07 2009
christianfletcher

That’s a good approach mate. I went for quantity as I always end up doing and came home from this trip with just under 8000 shots. Yikes I have some work to do.

10 07 2009
brentbat

Holy Moly Christian

8,000 shots!!! You will have some work to do.

I did take 1000 shots last night, but that was because I was doing a time lapse video of the sunset over Delicate Arch. No processing on those.

BP

10 07 2009
Neil

Hi,
You’ve got some beautifl images right there. I am a real newbie and just got interested in photography about 6-7 months ago. What exactly do you mean by light-painting in this case?

Kind regards,

Neil

10 07 2009
Andrew Brown

Hi Brent, fantastic image.

11 07 2009
Brent Pearson

Hi Neil

What I mean by light painting is that I am shooting all of these images at night time (usually under a full moon), but I am using my own light source(s) to illuminate part (or sometimes all) of the landscape. So I am literally painting the landscape with light and my long exposure on the camera captures it.

for more info on this technique see http://www.nightphotographyguide.com

Brent

19 07 2009
Ian.Ibrahim

geez they are all cracking shots mate .. ok this is my favourite now , your killing me lol ..

Leave a Reply

