Light Painting Utah – Video Number 3

30 07 2009

Hey folks

Thanks for all the positive feedback on my last video.  It seems it really helped to answer some questions about how I do my light painting.  This video is the last video in the series on Light Painting Utah.  It shows how I produced one of my favorite B&W images from the trip: Metate Arch- Devils Garden.  Just a reminder, the video is really an overview of what I do, if you want to have a go at this type of photography I would recommend you buy my eBook for $20 which has almost 90 pages of step-by-step instructions on everything from how to build the lights I use through to the post processing.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the video, thanks for all of you that have purchsed my eBook,  I appreciate it.

Brent

3695812402_d449d264f2


Actions

Information

10 responses

30 07 2009
Rob van Elven

Thanks for sharing another great behind the scenes video.
When you have the technique down like you do, it always looks surprisingly easy🙂 . Was wondering: When you highlight the rocks in the back, do you walk there and then use a remote trigger to start the shot, as I see no light trails from the camera to that area.

30 07 2009
brentbat

Hey Rob

Thanks for your note… glad you are enjoying the videos.

Once you get used to the technique, it does get surprisingly easy.. but then it’s like anything… I’ve just started learning the harmonica…. looks easy when others play it… but not when I try.

When highlighting rocks in the back of shot… I have an electronic timer on my camera and also an on/off switch on the light. So usually I set a 10 sec delay on my trigger… this gives me some time to walk to my start point, but even if the shutter triggers while I’m getting there I’m not worried for a few reasons:
1) If I’m moving I won’t show up in frame
2) Even though the shutter is open for 60 sec, often I’m only light painting for about 20 or 30 sec…. so doesn’t matter if I’m a bit late.

For a good exposure it’s less about the shutter duration or f/stop and more about how much light you put out onto the scene… brighter light and close to the subject…. shorter light duration. If you have a big area to light, you swing your light around for much longer over the entire scene.

I hope that helps
Brent

31 07 2009
Flemming Bo Jensen

Again, a great video, thanks for doing these Brent! This is a great image as well, my favourite though would be the one from the previous video.

1 08 2009
Lee Duguid

Hi Brent,
great video, I might have to get out there and do some painting myself! I’m just wondering if you had any tips on removing the red/green noise from the base image? I’m not sure if it’s me or the video but the base looked quite noisy (as you would expect with a 4 minute exposure @ ISO 200).

Cheers

1 08 2009
brentbat

Hey Lee

I think that was something funky going on when I recorded the movie.

The original base image is pretty clean. I usually don’t run into too much noise for 4min exposures if they are properly exposed and I don’t have to push them in post production.

BP

2 08 2009
Ian.I

a great series of videos mate .. enjoyed them immensely ..

2 08 2009
spoolphotography

Nice completion to your series of videos Brent. I have learnt some new procedures and looking forward to putting them to good use later this week ….

Cheers

Neal

3 08 2009
Andrew Brown

Hi Brent, these videos, as with your shots are works of art.

4 08 2009
Luke Austin

Your a good man Brent. Thank you for sharing these with us. I need to get out and give it a go. Thanks again

7 08 2009
Christian

thanks mate you gave me a tip I knew about but never new the shortcut, I would have paid for that but luckily your a generous man. Hope your not getting your shoes wet on any recent shoots, mine have been dry as a bone!! Cheers buddy

Leave a Reply

