Bodyscapes – My Latest Project

2 04 2010

This is the first shot from my new project which I am calling “Bodyscapes”.  It is a studio black and white study of lighting, shapes and composition.  It is probably the most technically challenging project that I have undertaken for quite a few reasons:

  • Being black and white, the lighting is critical
  • I’ve never shot nude models before
  • Working with the dry ice fog has it’s own challenges
  • The composition can be challenging with this theme
  • The post processing requires totally different techniques

However I’m really enjoying the project and I have my next shoot already scheduled.

The Idea:

I’ve always been fascinated by the landscape shots I’ve seen that show mountains, bridges, buildings emerging from low lying fog.  In addition, I’ve also really admired some of the well done fine art black and white nudes that I have seen.  So this concept is about combining the two.  I wanted the fog to abstract the shapes from the background, and I also want to try to recreate some landscape-type shapes with the human form.  I’ve got another shot or two from the first shoot to process, and I also have a video that I will edit up over the next couple of days that shows the “making of”.  I’m sure you will find it entertaining.

This is a project that I should be able to get my teeth into.  I want to pursue this topic for several months trying to refine it every shoot.  I’ve already learned a heap of lessons from the first shoot that I will be applying to shoot number two.

I look forward to your comments and feedback

Brent


Actions

Information

11 responses

2 04 2010
Ian.I

hey brent,

this is totally different to what i had in mind you would be shooting. absolutely brilliant work mate. love it when my contacts do something different to there usual work ;~)

2 04 2010
Ian.I

i also though it was a mountain you shot looking at in my flicker contacts shots at first ;~) lol.

2 04 2010
André

Great outcome Brent and the conversion to b&w is also very good.

4 04 2010
MatthewSaul

Awesome shot! Looking forward to watching the video!

5 04 2010
Kajo

Hi Brent,

I really like the result here. However I would have much preferred it without the a** tattoo. It may however be hard to remove it in post. Maybe if she covered it with makeup (like many models do for photo shoots). It would be a whole lot more abstract without it, as this is a dead giveaway.
I’m sure we will talk more about it tomorrow.

kajo

5 04 2010
Mark Stothard

Brilliant work Brent!

I am sure that you will be enjoying editing these scenes!

6 04 2010
Peter

Smokin! Can’t wait to see what you’ll do with all of your special lighting techniques. You might actually be able to make an original nude shot (those are hard to come by these days)! Great model, btw.

9 04 2010
muzz

Very nice outcome but I think you could do with my expert help holding a reflector for the next shoot. I can probably help you with ideas too – I’ve been thinking about this stuff for years, long before it even crossed my mind to take a photo of it!🙂

9 04 2010
Brentbat

Hey Muzz

Thanks for the offer of helping with the next nude shoot. I’m sure you could probably help with ideas….. although I think they might be a tad scarey!!!

BP

16 04 2010
slayerphoto

Hey, this is amazing, but where did you get the dry ice ?

17 04 2010
Brent Pearson

Hey Slayerphoto

Check this link out if you want dry ice in Australia
http://i4memory.com/f22/dry-ice-liquid-nitrogen-other-supplies-australia-3817/

Brent

Leave a Reply

