Kirsty Tutorial Part 2 – Post Processing

22 05 2010

This is part 2 of my tutorial on how I produced the image of Kirsty by the bunker.   If you haven’t read part 1, you might want to scroll down or go to the previous article to understand how the capture occured.

This posting is all about the photoshop work.  Now before you jump into the screencast, I refer to a guy in the video called Calvin Hollywood.  I have found Calvin’s techniques very different and very cool.  In particular I refer to an effect called “Freaky Details”.  The link to Calvin’s posting on Freaky Details is here. I have also bought Calvin’s DVD called “Calvinize” and I totally rate it.  But you want to be into more stylised photoshop before buying it…. It wouldn’t be as suitable for those of you that are only interested in photo realistic landscapes.

Anyway I hope you find this tutorial useful and pick up a few techniques.  I’m not sure I have explained everything super clearly, so just post a question in the comments if there is something you didn’t understand and I’ll clarify.

Enjoy

Brent


Actions

Information

4 responses

22 05 2010
truenorthmark

Great tutorial Brent…youdaman with this stuff mate!

23 05 2010
mervfrench

Thanks for your time Brent .

That was very interesting and useful.

Cheers.

24 05 2010
Tim Bolger

Thats Crazy details thing is crazy, looked it up and gave it a go.

11 06 2010
Chris McCormick

Thanks for taking the time to make that great tutorial! I really appreciate getting to see other photographers at work. I’ll definitely check out that “freaky details” technique.

Leave a Reply

