Icelandic Whale Humping & Killer Time Lapse

26 05 2010

I don’t know if you guys have seen this, but in case you haven’t I strongly suggest you follow the link below to Vimeo and watch this video in HD.  It is without a doubt the best time lapse photography I have ever seen.  The video below is from a guy called Sean Stiegemeir . The music is by an Icelandic artist called Jonsi. I’ve actually listed to some stuff from the band he performs in and I love it.  Now Icelandic music can be a bit…. lets say “strange” (think Bjork).  However I love this the music that is used on this clip and I have bought Jonsi’s album.  Many of you will hate it.  My work colleague calles it “whale humping music” and is ready to throttle me,  however I find it really inspirational and great to play when I’m deep in Photoshop doing some post processing.

So I’d love to hear what you think of the killer timelapse stuff (shot with a motorised dolly that costs less than $1K) and also the “whale humping” music of Jonsi.

Video by Sean Stiegemeir

Music By Jonsi


Actions

Information

17 responses

26 05 2010
Flemming Bo Jensen

I have seen it on Vimeo, it is a great piece of work – if you love timelapse, you probably know of Tom Lowe, Timescapes, he is the master of them all.

Sigur Ros are great, I better check out Jonsi. Whale humping music is a funny description hehe.

26 05 2010
truenorthmark

I certainly like the Time Laps Brent, but jury is out on the music.

I think Nana Misqury has it mate!!!🙂

26 05 2010
André

Great find, love the time lapse. Music is actually not too bad, sorry Mark, Nana Mouskouri loses, my Mom used to listen to her music in French when I was a young grenouille, probably overdosed on it back then😉

26 05 2010
Jasiah Ulbricht

WOW such a good video!!

Jonsi is great, he is actually the lead singer in Sigur Ros =)

26 05 2010
Johnno

Great time-lapse photography of an incredible location, but as for the music, if you played that trippy stuff all day long in my office, I’d thump you over the head with a Nikon D3 faster than you can say “Eyjafjallajökull”. 🙂

26 05 2010
brentbat

As if I could trust a man who loves Nana Mouskouri and Zorba The Greek to weigh in on a music discussion….. I don’t think so 🙂

BP

26 05 2010
truenorthmark

I knew that would get a bite! He He🙂

28 05 2010
Lee Duguid

Great time lapse, although I’m suprised to see the image flicker a few times. I guess he wasn’t using manual for this one but rather aperture priority and then deflickering it in post. The vertical pan is by far the best shot, great depth of field at the end too.

Here are some other great time lapses:
http://timescapes.org/

28 05 2010
Kajo

What a great find Brent, this is incredible. The time lapse on the dolly is as good as the Planet Earth time lapses, and those are some of the best I have ever seen. Amazing, that you can achieve this fairly cheaply.
I really like the music as well, I like your taste🙂

28 05 2010
Kajo

What a great find Brent, this is incredible. The time lapse on the dolly is as good as the Planet Earth time lapses, and those are some of the best I have ever seen. Amazing, that you can achieve this fairly cheaply.
I really like the music as well:)

28 05 2010
matt saul

Hey Brent,
Awesome stuff. Im also a fan of Jonsi, you should get some sigur ros albums, they are really good. He was the singer in the band but has since become solo..sigur ros is also good ‘whale humping’ music aha

28 05 2010
brentbat

Hey Matt

I’ve got one track from Sigur Ros, so I might have to check out some more.

The Go album is just brilliant to play when working on the computer.

Brent

29 05 2010
Luke Austin

Love the music. Love the clip.
I remember seeing this through Rod Thomas’ facebook a week or so ago and was blown away. Incredible and Inspirational.
Thanks for bringing it to my attention again

30 05 2010
Brett Morgan

The time laps was awesome Brent and the music is pretty good to I guess its kind of a personnel thing with the music though either you love it or hate it hey.

6 06 2010
Olina may

Brent. After seeing this, im in complete awe and may even start shopping around for a dolly myself (then attept something like this).

As for Jonsi, after hearing kolnidur, I have had no hestitations to track down the rest of his music and buy seated tickets to see him at Enmore on Aug 2.

Thank you for showing me this.

8 06 2010
Mike Senior

That is brilliant. I acutally like the music.😀

Cheers
Mike

11 06 2010
Chris McCormick

Great video! I’ll go ahead and admit to being a fan of Sigur Ros as well🙂
That dolly looks like quite the fun toy!
Thanks for sharing this, it was very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

