I’m Off On The Best Photo Trip In The World!

2 11 2011

Photo courtesy of Paul Bruins

OK, Maybe the title is a bit subjective, but thats how I feel.  On Friday I depart for a 2.5 week trip to Namibia.  I’ve been planning this trip for over a year and now it’s finally here.

I am travelling with one other photographer (Analia), and her husband Rob.  Together we are spending two weeks in a

Photo courtesy of Paul Bruins

Landcruiser photographing one of the most beautiful countries in the world.

We collect our 4WD in Windhoek (the capital).  It will be all decked out for camping with 2 fold out tents on the roof, fridge, BBQ, tables, chairs, camping gear etc.  We then head down to the Quiver Tree Forest near Keetmanskop,  then off to Luderitz which is on the coast.  The reason we are going here is to photograph two incredible ghost towns – Kolmanskop and Elizabeth Bay.  Both are ex diamond mining towns, and when the diamonds ran out, the people moved out.  What makes Kolmanskop especially interesting is that the desert has started reclaiming some of the buildings, so you get these incredible scenes of abandoned houses with sand dunes in them.   For me this is going to be a fun exercise in light, composition and colour.

Photo courtesy of Paul Bruins

Then we start heading up North to Wolwedans which has some absolutely gorgeous big landscapes.  We are staying in a private camp site all to ourselves with 4wd access roads into the park, so we can photograph at our leisure.

Photo courtesy of Paul Bruins

From there it’s a short hop up to Sesriem.  Our only luxurious accomodation for the trip. Here we are staying at the Sossus Dune Lodge which is inside the gates of the park.  The reason for this extravagence is so that we can photograph the incredible Dead Vlei at night…. I’m just dying to do some light painting here,  I think that it is the perfect subject for it and I have only ever seen two images that were shot at night in this location.

Then we drive for 3 days right up the North of the country to a town called Opuwo.  We pick up our local guide who is going to take us out for 5 days with various Himba tribes.  There I want to really focus on some environmental portraits using off camera flash.  We will go and visit the Epupa falls and the desert country of the North West.

Then back to Windhoek via Etosha National Park for one night of Wildlife viewing.

And then as if that wasn’t enough… when we get back to Windhoek again, a super talented local photographer called Sigi is going to line up a model for a shoot in a great looking ghost house.

This is going to be a photo trip of a lifetime as far as I am concerned.  2 weeks in country… chasing the light… eating, sleeping and breathing photography.  Life doesn’t get much better than that in my book.

Stay tuned, I’m not sure if I’ll be posting from the road, but I’ll sure as hell be posting when I get back.

Brent


Actions

Information

15 responses

2 11 2011
True North Mark

Very green with envy and wishing I was joining you mate! Have a great trip..stay safe and get heaps of good stuff!🙂

2 11 2011
brentbat

Hey Mark I wish you were joining me on the trip, but I understand totally.

Next time for sure… no excuses!!!

Brent

2 11 2011
True North Mark

Nup no excuses! Things are coming together now mate!🙂

2 11 2011
Alex Cheng

That sounds awesome! Look forward to seeing your pictures

3 11 2011
Doru Oprisan

That’s great news. I’ve been dreaming about Namibia for a few years myself and it’s high on my priorities list. Enjoy it and amaze us afterwards !

PS: I am just finishing a 2-month trip in Asia, which was, as you put it, the trip of a lifetime for me. Hopefully, only the first of many:) I have a ton of photos to work on when I get home in a few days.

4 11 2011
Karen von Knobloch

Have a great trip and remember to just sit a spell and enjoy the sights with your camera set aside. I do look forward to seeing what you bring back. Paul Bruins images are amazing and an inspiration for all of us…as I am sure yours will be too!

4 11 2011
Tim Donnelly

Best of luck Brent! Looking forward to seeing how extra jealous I become when you post some shots! Take Care Bud!

4 11 2011
Maggie

Those photos are gorgeous! I can’t wait to see yours!

8 11 2011
Dennis

All the best Brent – great to hear you’re finally there, and at a great time if year to shoot. I hope the heat is not too great for you. I guess you are heading to Etosha…. make sure you spend long periods at Kalkheuwel, by far the most productive waterhole in the Park. Also stop at Wlotzkasbaken (nth of Swakop) for some amazing colour. Regards, Dennis Jones – Wildlife Safari Consultants / Dee Why Camera Club

10 11 2011
Annette Potter

What a great opportunity – enjoy every bit of it.

18 11 2011
Jacqui

How fortunate am I to be catching up with you in two weeks. I am so looking forward to meeting you. It really is a lifetime adventure. Take care of yourself.

20 11 2011
Jenna

Sigi, sent me your direction… she is AMAZING…

love your work too… looking forward to seeing more.

22 11 2011
brentbat

Hey Jenna

Thanks for your comment on my blog…. I’ve got a lot of shots to process from Namibia. I enjoyed meeting Sigi and Nick, both amazing people.

Brent

23 11 2011
Allen Koppe

Hey Brent, can’t wait to see your Namibia pics and hear a few travellers tales. My job in China went really well, sadly no stills, but hope to cut together a reasonable 30 second spot.
AK

24 11 2011
André Joanisse

Looks like you are back from the trip. Looking forward to the photos, Namibia is an amazing place to photograph.

Leave a Reply

