I don’t normally do weddings… but…

10 01 2011

Now I have got the greatest respect for good wedding photographers.   I reckon they earn every dollar they get paid.  They are very talented to produce wonderful artistic images under extremely tough conditions such as emotional brides, nervous grooms,  super-tight schedules,  people everywhere etc. etc.

The Groom and his best man

I don’t do weddings… almost.  I’ve now shot two in my life.  The first was for my sister Nicole about a year ago, and the second

one was for Rev Meier and his fiancee Maria.  I photographed Rev about six months ago , and when I had the opportunity of shooting this wedding together with Chris Belyea and Gavin Marchiano, I figured that this wedding was not going to be your typical wedding.

Rev and Maria are both tattoo artists, and so are most of their friends.  They had their ceremony in the Chinese gardens, and their reception in the skeleton room of the Australian Museum.   Very cool setting for some unusual pictures.

Overall I was pretty happy with my pictures,  I used an Alienbee 1600 shooting into a 64″ PLM in order to spray some light at the bride and groom during the ceremony… they were in the shade against a full sun background which made things tricky.

For the formal shots in the Dinosaur room, I set up my SB900 into the 64″ PLM with a diffuser over it high to camera left, and had a gridded AlienBee blasting some light up on the skeletons in the background.

All in all it was a tiring but fun day…. however I won’t be getting into the wedding photography business anytime soon. Thats for sure.  I’ll leave it to the pros.


Actions

Information

6 responses

11 01 2011
Jim Schneider

I think your B&W shots are very nice. You should do more weddings. Good Luck

11 01 2011
Kheng

Great stuff Brent, yeah keep out of the wedding market that will give us more opportunity to get more work with one less competition😀 I am joking of course. Your shots are great.

11 01 2011
davidsobik

Great images Brent! Just a little different to my wedding stuff.
We keep it pretty simple here in the country.

11 01 2011
True North Mark

Lucky them for having you to have shot them Bro!

You are daman when it comes to portraits mate!

18 01 2011
Brent grooms | Seeyou2004

[…] I don't normally do weddings… but… […]

25 12 2011
JJ Reyes Photography

Wow, nice information you have provided! I will implement some of this in my business model. Thank you! I’m a quinceaneras photographer in the San Francisco bay area.

Leave a Reply

